Current Lab Members

Principle Investigator 

Zhaozhu Qiu

Associate Professor of Physiology, and Neuroscience

Email:; Twitter: @ZhaozhuQ

Google Scholar

Alfred P. Sloan Research Fellow in Neuroscience

McKnight Scholar Award

Klingenstein-Simons Fellowship Award in Neuroscience

Postdoc: with Ardem Patapoutian PhD at Scripps Research Institute/HHMI 
Ph.D.: with Stephen Goff PhD at Columbia University/HHMI
B.Med.: Shandong University

Postdoctoral Fellow

Junhua Yang, Ph.D.

AHA Postdoc Fellow

Jianan Chen, Ph.D.

AHA Postdoc Fellow

Portrait picture-Liu.jpg

Yongqing Liu, Ph.D.

Graduate Student

James Osei-Owusu

AHA Predoc Fellow

jiachen lab photo.jpg

Jiachen Chu

LJ for lab website.jpg

Ljubica Mihaljevic

Boehringer Ingelheim Fonds

Kevin Chen Profile Picture.jpg

Kevin Chen

Lab Alumni

Graduate Student

Maria del Carmen Vitery Graduate Student Award is established by the Department of Physiology in the memory of Maria Vitery, a former graduate student of Cellular & Molecular Physiology in our lab. Maria was born in Peru and immigrated to the U.S. as a teenager. She obtained her BS in Biology from University of Maryland Baltimore County and her MS in Biotechnology from Johns Hopkins University. Maria joined the Qiu Lab in 2016. As a NIH Ruth L. Kirschstein National Research Service awardee, she made seminal contributions to the physiological role of SWELL1 and PAC chloride channels. Maria also distinguished herself by exemplary service and contribution to the community. She devoted numerous hours as a mentor to children in Baltimore who were struggling in school. Maria was an accomplished ballet dancer and shared her love of this art through performing and teaching. Tragically, a sudden unexplained disease ended her life on January 28, 2019. For her outstanding academic achievements, service, and commitment to diversity, Maria was inducted into the inaugural class of the Edward Alexander Bouchet Graduate Honor Society and awarded a PhD posthumously. This Award honors a current student who, like Maria, excels in research and demonstrates commitment to service and outreach. The winners (Ashley Stewart, 2019; Anna Moyer and James Osei-Owusu, 2020) are announced at the Annual Physiology Retreat in the fall.

Maria Vitery, Ph.D.

NIH Predoc Fellow

Undergraduate Student

Ami Tamhaney 

Gavin Li